- Recipes For Food Lovers Including Cooking Tips At Foodlovers.co.nz - https://www.foodlovers.co.nz -

Summer Salad Recipes

Posted By Helen Jackson On January 14, 2009 @ 11:50 am In Features,Loving Food | No Comments

One of the wonderful things about  summer cooking is that meals can be decided at the last minute and quickly cooked or just assembled. 
I am a big fan of salads, I love contrast in food and with salads it is easy to have a variety of textures and flavours that work together in one dish.

Salads are easily put together out of ingredients on hand and while recipes are not necessarily adhered to there are a few guidelines that are worth following:

  • Aways dry your lettuce after washing it, drying keeps the leaves crunchy and enables the dressing to coat rather than running off.
  • When making your own salad dressing remember that most use a ratio of 3:1 oil to vinegar.
  • Season the vinegar before you add the oil as it is easier to dissolve in vinegar.
  • Different flavoured vinegars will add variation to your salad.  As well as white wine, red wine and balsamic try raspberry or sherry vinegar.  While I recommend making your own vinaigrette, I have discovered Peplers black raspberry vinaigrette [1] and I am almost drinking it!
  • Always use a good quality oil, it makes all the difference to the final flavour.
  • Roasted vegetables are great in salads, just take care when handling pumpkin and kumara that it doesn’t turn to mush.
  • Finely sliced brown onion can be soaked in hot water briefly to soften the flavour.  Don’t soak too long however or you will also lose texture.
  • Keep a small supply of nuts and seeds on hand, lightly toasted they add instant texture to a salad.

Salads

Raw Energy Salad [2]
Fattoush [3]
Brown Rice Salad [4]
Favourite Orzo Salad [5]
Warm Salad of Pumpkin and Quinoa
Caesar Salad
[6]
Eggplant, Mint and Feta Salad [7]
Greek Style Potato Salad [8]
Marinated Tomato Salad [9]

Nutty Rice Salad [10]


Salads with Meat or Fish
Chicken Grape and Almond Salad [11]
Fragrant Chicken Salad [12]
Cerviche [13]
Salad Nicoise [14]
Prawn, Avocado and Noodle Salad [15]
Thai Chicken Salad [16]
Asian Duck Salad [17]
Chinese Chicken Salad [18]
Cranberry Bacon and Avocado Salad [19]
Lamb, Beetroot and Feta Salad [20]
Chicken, Bacon and Spinach Salad [21]
Warm Spicy Lamb Salad [22]
Warm Chicken Salad [23]

 

Dressings
Tomato Basil Dressing [24]
Herb Vinaigrette [25]
walnut vinaigrette [26]
walnut and verjuice vinaigrette [27]
mayonnaise [28]
aioli [29]

Method


Article printed from Recipes For Food Lovers Including Cooking Tips At Foodlovers.co.nz: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz

URL to article: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/features/summer-salad-recipes.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Peplers black raspberry vinaigrette: http://peplers.co.nz/store/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=49

[2] Raw Energy Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/raw-energy-salad.html

[3] Fattoush: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/fattoush.html

[4] Brown Rice Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/display.php?id=714

[5] Favourite Orzo Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/favourite-orzo-salad.html

[6] Warm Salad of Pumpkin and Quinoa
Caesar Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/warm-salad-of-pumpkin-quinoa.html

[7] Eggplant, Mint and Feta Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/eggplant-mint-and-feta-salad.html

[8] Greek Style Potato Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/greek-style-potato-salad.html

[9] Marinated Tomato Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/marinated-tomato-salad.html

[10] Nutty Rice Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/nutty-rice-salad.html

[11] Chicken Grape and Almond Salad : https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/chicken-grape-and-almond-salad-hester-guy.html

[12] Fragrant Chicken Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/display.php?id=1282

[13] Cerviche: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/southwestern-ceviche.html

[14] Salad Nicoise: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/salad-nicoise.html

[15] Prawn, Avocado and Noodle Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/prawn-avocado-and-noodle-salad.html

[16] Thai Chicken Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/larb-gai-thai-chicken-salad.html

[17] Asian Duck Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/duck-salad.html

[18] Chinese Chicken Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/chinese-chicken-salad.html

[19] Cranberry Bacon and Avocado Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/cranberry-bacon-and-avocado-salad.html

[20] Lamb, Beetroot and Feta Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/90x90_recipe-images.png

[21] Chicken, Bacon and Spinach Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/chicken-bacon-and-spinach-salad.html

[22] Warm Spicy Lamb Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/warm-spicy-lamb-salad.html

[23] Warm Chicken Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/warm-chicken-salad.html

[24] Tomato Basil Dressing: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/tomato-basil-salad-dressing.html

[25] Herb Vinaigrette: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/herb-vinaigrette.html

[26] walnut vinaigrette: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/walnut-vinaigrette.html

[27] walnut and verjuice vinaigrette: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/verjuice-walnut-oil-vinaigrette.html

[28] mayonnaise: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/mayonnaise-radio-live.html

[29] aioli: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/uncategorized/aioli.html

Copyright © 2015 Foodlovers.co.nz. All rights reserved