- Recipes For Food Lovers Including Cooking Tips At Foodlovers.co.nz - https://www.foodlovers.co.nz -

12 Delicious Pumpkin Recipes

Posted By Helen Jackson On April 23, 2015 @ 11:02 am In Features,Loving Food | 1 Comment


Autumn and pumpkin recipes go hand in hand.  The weather is cooling and our desire for meals with a little more substance increases.
There can be some confusion around the word pumpkin vs squash and they are pretty much interchangeable.  Vegetables.co.nz [1] says that pumpkins are generally describes winter squash that have a hard skin and hard flesh.
Crown or grey pumpkins are the most common available here in New Zealand with Whangaparoa being the most popular variety.  The very hard skin on these pumpkins means that they store well and therefore are available year round.
Butternutswith their long neck and bulb like base are also popular, the flesh is sweet and they and have a thinner skin than the crown pumpkin making them easier to peel.
For more on pumpkin and squash varieties check out vegetables.co.nz [1]

When growing pumpkins it is best to leave them on the vine for as long as you can, be sure that they are still growing though.   Once they mature then chop them off where the stem meets the vine.  Wash and dry and then store in a cool dark spot with good ventilation.
Once cut then wrap pieces of pumpkin in plastic clingfilm and store in the refrigerator.

With its silky smooth texture, pumpkins can be used in both sweet and savoury dishes but aside from the odd pumpkin pie or cake we like to use them as the hero of autumn meals.

12 Top Pumpkin Recipes.

Individual Pumpkin Tarts [2]

Pumpkin, Spinach and Chickpea Curry [3]

Sweet Pumpkin Pie with Maple Walnuts [4]

Spicy Pumpkin Seeds [5]

Warm Salad of Pumpkin and Quinoa [6]

Maple Pumpkin, Kale and Feta Salad [7]

Pizza of Roasted Pumpkin with Feta and Olives [8]

Roast Pumpkin, Capscium, Basil and Feta Salad [9]

Pumpkin Soup [10]

Pumpkin Pasties [11]

Pumpkin Hummus [12]

Pu [13]mpkin and Ginger Scone [14]s

 

 

 

 

Method


Article printed from Recipes For Food Lovers Including Cooking Tips At Foodlovers.co.nz: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz

URL to article: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/food/12-delicious-pumpkin-recipes.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Vegetables.co.nz: http://www.vegetables.co.nz

[2] Individual Pumpkin Tarts: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/individual-pumpkin-feta-sage-olive-tarts.html

[3] Pumpkin, Spinach and Chickpea Curry: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/pumpkin-spinach-chickpea-curry.html

[4] Sweet Pumpkin Pie with Maple Walnuts: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/pumpkin-pie-maple-walnuts.html

[5] Spicy Pumpkin Seeds: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/pumpkin.html

[6] Warm Salad of Pumpkin and Quinoa: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/warm-salad-of-pumpkin-quinoa.html

[7] Maple Pumpkin, Kale and Feta Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/maple-pumpkin-kale-feta-salad.html

[8] Pizza of Roasted Pumpkin with Feta and Olives: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/pizza-of-roasted-pumpkin-with-ewes-milk-feta-and-olives.html

[9] Roast Pumpkin, Capscium, Basil and Feta Salad: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/pumpkin-feta-salad.html

[10] Pumpkin Soup: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/pumpkin-soup.html

[11] Pumpkin Pasties: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/pumpkin-pastries.html

[12] Pumpkin Hummus: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/pumpkin-hummus.html

[13] Pu: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/pumpkin-and-ginger-scones.html

[14] mpkin and Ginger Scone: https://www.foodlovers.co.nz/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/Pumpkin-Pie-e1404611615459.jpg

Copyright © 2015 Foodlovers.co.nz. All rights reserved